C-SURF Fellows Named for 2014

March 20, 2014

C-SURF fellows and faculty advisors

Congratulations to the 2014 C-SURFers. The five students chosen for the Computer Science Undergraduate Research Fellows program will work with a faculty adviser and graduate student mentor to gain in-depth, hands-on understanding of the academic research environment.

"The purpose of the C-SURF program is to involve undergraduates in research and to hopefully interest them in pursuing a graduate degree," Computer Science Associate Chairman Richard Lucic said. "Many of our C-SURF alums to date have in fact gone on to graduate school."

The fellows, selected from a group of applicants, participate in a paid summer research experience. They also participate in two linked independent studies and participate in the CS Undergraduate Research Poster Day. Those who successfully complete the C-SURF program will graduate with distinction.

The new fellows are named below:

Victor Bai (Class of 2015)
Project: Massive Data Approach to Geolocation
Faculty Advisor: Bruce Maggs
Mentor: Balakrishnan Chandrasekaran
Ayana Burkins (Class of 2016)
Project: Physical Therapy Rehabilitation with Virtual Reality
Faculty Advisors: Tabitha Peck and Regis Kopper
William Chang (Class of 2016)
Project: Data Center Systems / Mobile Systems
Faculty Advisor: Benjamin Lee
Mentor: Qiuyan Wang
Yossra Hamid (Class of 2016)
Project: Alice
Faculty Advisor: Susan Rodger
Samantha Huerta (Class of 2015)
Project: Mathematical Integration of Alice Project
Faculty Advisor: Susan Rodger

More information about the C-SURF program is available at cs.duke.edu/csurf.