*ambient


checking out a project

Once you have checked in a project you can check it out from any computer that has Eclipse and Ambient installed. This means you can work on your project wherever you want (including labs) without having to worry about forgetting your files.

  • In order to check out a project select Ambient > Check out a Project. A wizard will open to guide you through the process. If you have set your check-in preferences the user name field will be filled in automatically, otherwise you will have to enter your NetID. Unless you are working on a team project, you do not have to change any of the other fields. Click the Next button.

    Checkout Wizard
  • Eclipse will connect to your CVS repository and fetch a list of all the projects you have checked in so far. You might be prompted to enter a password. If this occurs, enter your NetID password and press OK. Your available projects will be displayed.

  • Select the project you want to check out and press Finish. The latest version of the files in your repository will be downloaded into your workspace.

team check-out

Before you can start working with a team, you must first set up your project appropriately.

Once you begin working on a project as a team, you should excersise care not to overwrite another person's changes. To make sure your workflow is efficient, always perform a check-out operation before you begin working on the code. This will ensure that you are always working on the most recent version of the code.

Perform the check-out in the usual way, as outlined above. The operation will complete as usual if there are no conflicting changes, that is if the local copy of the project is the same as the one on the server or if copy on the server is a newer version (in which case the newer version will be downloaded to your computer).

If conflicting changes occur (that is, you are trying to perform a check-out when you have made changes to the local copy of the files and there exist new and conflicting changes on the server) you will be presented with this screen:

The available choices are:

  • Overwrite - this will overwrite all local changes (this is equivalent to deleting the local copy of the project and checking it out from scratch).
  • Synchronize - this will launch the Synchronization perspective that will allow you to synchronize individual files manually. This is an option for advanced users. Please read the documentation available within Eclipse on synchrozing files.
  • Cancel - does nothing.

 

Last Update: 23 August 2005