The guidelines in this document will hopefully help departmental
account holders to understand the process better and alleviate concerns
about the loss of files and disabled access to their CS accounts.
Membership of the CS department is in a constant state of flux:
new students, both graduate and undergraduate, arrive and leave.
Undergraduate students move in and out of the department when majors
change. Recent graduates return as research collaborators. As such,
the Lab staff must maintain a constantly changing list of accounts.
We try to strike a balance between ease of use for the account holders
and the management and resource demands of maintaining the accounts.
It must be remembered that each account incurs resource costs,
as well as security risks, and therefore accounts cannot simply be
allowed to accumulate without bound.
Account are closed in batches, typically in the spring and fall
of the year, as the Lab staff workload permits.
Departmental members whose accounts have been
scheduled to expire should take note of the process outlined below.
Prior to closing
- Users whose accounts are slated for closing will receive automated
e-mail messages, once per week, starting approximately 1 month
prior to closing.
- The automated message will notify the user of the grace
period, after which access to the account will be
disabled. This grace period varies, depending on the type
- Users are strongly encouraged to consult the account closing
checklist, to prepare
for the closing of their account.
- Graduate students may request a 1-year extension, simply
by replying to the e-mail. This may be repeated annually for a
maximum of 3 years of extensions.
- Beyond extensions and grace periods as noted above, an account may continue only
through CS faculty sponsorship.
After the grace period expires
- After the grace period expires, access to the account will be
disabled and the account will no longer receive e-mail.
An automated responder will notify senders that the account
has been disabled, and will provide a forwarding address,
if one is on file. No files are deleted
at this time.
- Requests for access to the account's contents after the grace
period will require some form of authentication. This is necessary
to protect the privacy of the users.
- Account are removed, twice yearly, in batches.
You can contact
the Lab staff about retrieving files from a deleted account.
We hope that this explanation will help to clear up any
misconceptions about the account closing process in the CS
department. If you have any questions please
contact the Lab staff.